Scottish scones

Yesterday I baked my first scones. They were delicious – so says my boyfriend and, being modest, I confirm this, although I’m going to have to make another another batch for my friend, who’s a scone lover and an expert, to try them. Apparently scones are only good on the day there are made and she was at work the whole day.

The recipe was given to me by a friend from work and belonged to her mum so it is a genuine Scottish recipe. I will ask her tomorrow if I am allowed to share it. It’s so quick (ok, maybe not for a beginner like me) – my friend says it took her mum around half an hour from scratch to fresh-from-oven scones!

24/03/2010

I got permission from my friend Normie to publish the recipe. She learned it from her mother Georgina and she says they’re the best scones she’s ever had.
The ingredients you need are: flour, baking powder, butter, caster sugar, egg and milk. Into 8 oz (230 g) self raising flour with 1 teaspoon of baking powder rub 2 oz (60 g) butter until it feels like fine breadcrums (this part takes up most time). Stir in 1 oz (25 g) of caster sugar and add 2 oz (60 g) of any fruit you fancy – best are raisins, sultanas, currants. Separately beat an egg with 5 fluid oz (140 ml) of milk and add this to the mixture – you might not need to add everything in case you think the dough is too wet. It is best to use a palette knife to combine the two, not a spoon.  The secret is not to roll out the dough but pat it gently with your hands adn have a light touch on the cutter when cutting out scones. Put onto grease and floured baking tray and coat with egg wash (an egg with 1 spoon of water), bake for 12 minutes in a hot oven. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

