The Book of Kells

Art touches my soul. Art is pieces of human work, yet, they have the power to send me onto a spiritual high. This is how I know  God exists. I believe that’s where inspiration and talent comes from.

Today I was browsing imdb.com in search of films worth seeing. I came across one user’s list of films from 2009 to be seen and on it was The Secret of Kells – “the animated story of the boy behind the famed Book of Kells”. I don’t think I’m going to see the (animated) film but I had to look up what the Book of Kells was. I will leave it to you to do the same – believe me, it’s incredible and wonderful. With the calligraphy, colours, layers of design – without a doubt it is a masterpiece. It is about 1200 years old. It was also probably made on Iona, Scotland. For me discovering it today was one of those instances where art, God and Scotland all came together.

Leave a Reply

